6th ICC Awards ceremony tonight

JOHANNESBURG: The sixth LG ICC Awards 2009 will take place at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg. The function will start at 10:30 pm (PST) while the guests will start arriving at 09:30 pm (PST).

India’s good form over the past year will be recognised on Thursday night at the ICC awards ceremony. Four Indians have been nominated for cricket’s top honour.

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and opener Gautam Gambhir have got twin nominations, while Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag have been shortlisted for the ODI Player of the Year category of the annual awards.

Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan have been nominated for three International Cricket Council (ICC) awards. Dilshan has also been nominated for the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year Award.

Based on the period between August 13, 2008 and August, 24, 2009, the LG ICC Awards 2009 presented in association with FICA take into account performances by players and officials.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC World Twenty20 2009 in England, the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009 in Australia and the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2009 in South Africa, as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.

The nominations were made by a five-member selection panel headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

The panel also included former cricketers Anil Kumble of India, Mudassar Nazar of Pakistan, Bob Taylor of England and New Zealand’s Stephen Fleming.

The previous LG ICC Awards ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007) and Dubai (2008).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s