International Commission urges Pak, India to bring CTBT into force

NEW DELHI: The International Commission on Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament, promoted by Australia and Japan, has called for bringing the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) into force and singled out India, Israel and Pakistan as the three countries which must contribute to make the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty universal.

Co-chaired by the former Foreign Ministers of Japan and Australia, the participants at a meeting of the panel here were optimistic that the renewed focus of major powers on disarmament, led by the US and Russia, offered an opportunity for progress and noted that the NPT had “near-universal acceptance.”

Regional security dynamics were analysed along with the scope for confidence-building measures. Views were divided on whether regional nuclear arsenals could be contained in the absence of progress in resolving regional tensions,” noted a press release.

Organised in the run-up to a review of the NPT in May next, the two-day meeting brought together former high-ranking diplomats and service officers, besides members of the strategic community from several countries, many from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Nepal.

The discussion was structured around the three pillars underlying the NPT: pursuing nuclear disarmament, preventing the spread of nuclear weapons and facilitating the safe and peaceful uses of nuclear technology to meet the growing regional energy demand.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s